What we practice, we become. These six “grounding principles” guide everything we do through the Sercleinc.

Survivor Empowerment

At Share Anonymous Initiative, we recognize that survivors are in charge of their own lives. We strive to create a supportive and safe environment, empowering survivors with the knowledge to make their own decisions.

Generous Listening

Listening is more than just being quiet while others have their say. It is about presence as much as receiving; it is about connection more than observing. The generous listener wants to understand the humanity behind the words of the other, and patiently summons one's own best self and one's own most generous words and questions. We know that respectful, compassionate, attentive, and authentic listening cab bring healing, while a controlling, blaming, and/or invalidating response can cause harm.

Words that Matter

We are starved for fresh language to understand and relate with each other. We need words with power that not only convey truth, but also bring close, comforts and mend our brokenness. The words we use shape how we understand ourselves, how we interpret the world, and how we treat others. Our words can both empower people and make them want to press on or diminish them and make them want to quit. Words have an incredible healing power in people's lives. Knowing what to say to someone who may be experiencing sexual or domestic violence can be overwhelming and downright scary. It is important to be as supportive and non-judgmental as possible.



Compassion is a commitment. It's not something we have or don't have, it's something we choose to practice. According to Brené Brown, we can't practice compassion with other people if we can't treat ourselves kindly. Want to be happier? Practice compassion! Want to have better relationships? Practice compassion! Want to heal yourself or others? Practice compassion! Compassion is not a relationship between the healer and the wounded. It's a relationship between equals. Only when we know our darkness well can we be present with the darkness of others. Compassion becomes real when we recognize our shared humanity. All survivors deserve compassion and support no matter their gender, sexuality, status, religion, or tribe.


Empathy is the skill or ability to tap into our own experiences in order to connect with an experience someone is relating to us. Empathy is a skill that can bring people together and make people feel included. According to Brené Brown, the 4 key steps to showing empathy are; - Perspective taking, or putting yourself in someone else's shoes. - Staying out of judgement and listening. - Recognizing emotion in another person that you have maybe felt before. - Communicating that you can recognize that emotion.



Kindness is a universe of things. One definition of kindness combines several qualities: friendliness, generosity, and consideration. Kindness requires vulnerability. Kindness requires that we are conscious and intentional the impact our words or actions may have; it means expanding energy and effort and caring about the outcome. It also means suspending judgment and accepting people as they are. We can be kind and patient with each other; even when it is difficult, and when you gain nothing from it. Keeping promises. Being slow to anger. Being courteous. Kindness has the power to transform and heal, and all survivors are worthy of every bit of kindness.

Scroll to Top
Seraphinite AcceleratorBannerText_Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.